VEGAN COFFEE CAKE RECIPE REVIEW

Recently, I tried out a vegan coffee cake recipe as a birthday surprise for my amazing mum. The reason I chose to make a vegan one instead of a regular one was because it’s currently Navratri*, which means that cooking with eggs or non-vegetarian food items is banned in the house for nine days (#JustIndianThings).

As I scoured the internet to find an easy but delicious recipe, I stumbled across this vegan coffee cake recipe on the Hot For Food blog and decided to give it a shot because it just sounded and looked so delicious.

*Navratri is a Hindu Festival which celebrates Goddess Durga.

20161003_20422741

INGREDIENTS LIST 

COURTESY HOT FOR FOOD:

Coffee cake ingredients:

  • 2 C all purpose flour
  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 C packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 C granulated sugar
  • 3/4 C + 2 tbsp coconut oil (soft but still solid)
  • 1 C unsweetened almond milk (or soy milk)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C strong brewed coffee
  • 1/3 C unsweetened coconut yogurt

Vanilla icing ingredients:

  • 1/2 C powdered icing sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp unsweetened almond milk (can also use water)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

FOR THE FULL RECIPE, VISIT: http://www.hotforfoodblog.com/recipes/2016/8/8/vegan-coffee-cake

 

20161003_20452142

MY PROCESS:

  • I had most of the ingredients at home except for apple cider vinegar and sugar – both of which I had just run out of and had to buy anyways.
  • The steps were simple enough to follow for a beginner like me.
  • My total cooking time was a little over 40 mins (excluding the oven time)- but this was only because I was taking pictures and finding the ingredients as I went along.
  • The quantity was to the T and easily served 8 large slices.
  • Some of the substitutes I made:
    • Coconut yogurt replaced with a mixture of Greek yogurt and some coconut cream for flavouring
    • Coconut milk instead of almond milk
    • I also additionally added some nutmeg to give a spicy dimension.
  • I was going to substitute the apple cider with lemon until I also ran out of the sugar and had to run out to shops anyways.

THE END RESULT:

  • I don’t know if this was because of my variations or something else entirely, but my cake tasted like a moist oaty coconutty crumble cake. Something like the OATY SLICES you get here in Australia.
  • My cake didn’t rise as much as I had expected it to. But then again, this was a vegan cake or I may have over mixed the batter.
  • My icing was a fail but that is completely on account of my poor mixing skills. I just put some whipped cream on it instead (which makes it non-vegan but it’s still vegetarian).

20161003_21072444

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I thought this was a great, easy-to-make cake recipe for any occasion! Obviously mine was a little off with texture and taste due to my not so perfect baking skills. If given a choice, I would still bake using eggs as I just think that the cake holds so much better when they are used, but that’s just my personal preference.

That being said, this is a great cake that everyone can eat as it is vegan and my family enjoyed it!

Would I bake it again? Yes definitely, but I may just add a little more coffee next time.

Be sure to try it out,
Deeksha xxx
Leave a Reply

