The *nearly* Empties Edition

Heyy Everybody! Today’s post is all about the nearly empty products that have now been stashed aside to serve the sole purpose of modelling themselves for this post. I was so eager to write one that I couldn’t even wait until they were actually empty :’) . So, I hope you enjoy reading my first (nearly) ’empties’ post because I certainly cannot wait to get started!

NEUTROGENA’s Deep Clean Facial Cleanser

  • WHAT: Facial Cleanser (oil free)
  • PRICE: AED 30/200ml (I bought this in a value pack price – so the actual individual price may be slightly higher – roughly AED 40).
  • INGREDIENTS: Aqua, Glycerin, Coco-Glucoside, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Lauroamphodiacete, Acrylates/Beheneth-25, Methacrylate Copolymer, Panthenol, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioieate. Poly quaternium-7, Sodium Chloride, Citric Acid, Methylparaben, DMDM Hydantoin, Parfum, CI 19140, CI 17200.
  • PACKAGING: Clear plastic with a pump that can be locked. So, it is travel friendly and helps you figure out how much is left.

This product has literally been present EVERY SINGLE DAY OF MY LIFE for the past 5 months and I just cannot get over it. It has literally managed to come through for me and provide me with that fresher, cleaner face. Let’s just say that I feel like I am in a long term relationship with this one. Moreover, since the product is gel based, it is perfect for my sensitive/dry skin due to it’s gentle nature. The fact that this is dermatologist tested is an added bonus as well. The down-side is that the ingredients do seem very scary; the fact that they are all chemicals and not cruelty-free. However, I feel that they would only be stocked up if they passed the regulations and so I would not be too worried. Also, I have tested it out and it didn’t react adversely to my sensitive skin. Overall, Love It.

AUSTRALIAN NATIVE BOTANICALS

  • WHAT: Moisture, Revitalising shampoo for dry and damaged hair.
  • PRICE: AED 55/250ml  or  AUD 16.99 (I bought this on sale and so I paid AED 20, from Marks&Spencers).
  • INGREDIENTS:  Aqua, cetearyl alcohol (and) behentrimonium methosulphate, cetearyl alcohol, sesamum indicum (sesame) seed oil, glycerin, aloe barbadensis leaf extract (organic**), terminalia ferdinandiana extract (kakadu plum), hibiscus sabdariffa flower extract (wild rosella),simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil (organic**), persea gratissima (avocado) oil (organic**), rosa canina fruit (rosehip) oil, benzyl alcohol, phenoxyethanol, tocopherol, citral*, limonene*, mentha spicata (spearmint) leaf oil, melissa officinalis (lemon balm)oil, citrus grandis (grapefruit) peel oil, citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel oil.
    *natural components of pure essential oils and pure plant oils.  (Not full list. Check Image for more info).
  • PACKAGING: Yellow opaque plastic bottle with a pump that doesn’t lock (aka not travel-friendly).

Let’s start with the benefit’s of this product. It claims to not have PEG’s, parabens, phthalates. More so, it is apparently 100% vegan as there are no animal ingredients and no animal testing. Lastly, it doesn’t have any synthetic fragrance or colouring and is gluten free. With regards to packaging and processing, it claims to be made using sustainable, low carbon, cold manufacturing technology and the plastic is biodegradable  as it has a special organic additive in it. To be honest, when I read this blurb on the back of the shampoo bottle, I literally did a little dance because look at all these wonderful claims it makes. I mean an eco-friendly, animal loving, chemical hating product that also cleans and moisutrises your hair is definitely like a dream come true.

So, without a second thought, I bought it. After my first wash, my hair didn’t feel great. It was drier and a lot of my hair started to fall. But I thought it was because my hair was so used to chemicals that it was just going through an adaptive phase. After 2 months of continuous washing, I finally accepted the fact that it was the shampoo that was damaging my hair. I was so keen to make this shampoo work because of all the good things it claimed but I feel that they let me down on the actual shampoo itself. The shampoo  almost looked like water or a verrry diluted shampoo and it didn’t even feel like I was cleaning my hair. I didn’t expect it to lather obviously, but I did expect my hair to feel clean. Overall, A BIG LET DOWN 😦

GARNIER Daily Moisturising Lotion

  • WHAT: Facial cream that helps brighten your skin and get rid of dark spots.
  • PRICE: AED 19/50ml
  • INGREDIENTS: Not provided anywhere :/
  • PACKAGING: Yellow opaque bottle with a white screw on lid. The bottle is very slim and can easily fit anywhere.

I mainly bought this product for summer as it had SPF 15, UVA and UVB and it also doubled up as a face cream. Basically, I assumed an automatic win- win. However, this product was very heavy for a day cream and also had the consistency of an actual sun block. So when I used to put it on, it looked as though I had put on Niveas’ SPF 30 sunblock on my face. My skin is fairly dry and so I can pretty much handle any thick cream without making my skin look like it’s greasy or clogging my pores, but this product just did not make the cut for me. Plus, during summer I tend to tan a lot quicker and so this product just made it look like I was buying my foundation in the wrong shade or trying to pull a Michael Jackson. Overall, I’d recommend that if you do buy this, use it if you are going to play some outdoor sport in the heat like I did. Otherwise for a daily wear, this is a big NO.

In the end…

I hope you guys enjoyed the post and hopefully have more successes with your shopping sprees! I’m also so glad I can bin these products now that I have the pictures. Always recycle!

I just noticed the yellow theme,
Deeksha xxx
4 thoughts on “The *nearly* Empties Edition

Leave a Reply

