Is Manuka Honey for real?

A few years ago, my mum brought home a small tub of Manuka Honey. Being a teen with occasional breakouts, the Manuka Honey was my saviour as it healed my whiteheads and the occasional pimple quickly and this resulted in my religious application of the product.

That is until my worst nightmare came true: I ran out of the product. Sigh!

But being my lazy self (lol), I didn’t bother to buy another tub until my next breakout. Obviously, my breakout wasn’t going to warn me like a week in advance saying,’Sweetie, you better go grab some… I’m on my way’. But oh how I wish it did! Anyways, the breakout came and I panicked. So, I ran to my kitchen to grab some regular honey and slathered it all over. At that point, I believed that using the regular honey was a “desperate measure” in a desperate time.

But little did I know that my future was going to change and I believe for the better.

My face cleared up and was as soft as it could ever be; the same results within roughly the same period of time. That got me thinking, is Manuka Honey all hype?

Let’s find Out

WHAT: Manuka Honey is basically honey that is produced in Australia and New Zealand from the nectar of the manuka tree. This honey has bio- active ingredients that contain antibacterial properties that achieve many benefits when used. In order to assess the antibacterial properties, the honey is given a score known as the Unique Manuka Factor (UMF). It is a trademarked and reliable medical measure. The higher the score, the stronger the antibacterial potency.

BENEFITS:

  • Heals wounds
  • Improves sleep
  • Beauty treatment (stops acne or eczema)
  • Improves immunity
  • Helps reduce acid reflux, sinuses, etc.

DISADVANTAGES:

  • Very expensive
  • High levels of sugar which can lead to diabetes. Eat sparingly.

COMPARISON:

There are 2 different types of honey that we will compare. The first is the generic/ normal honey sold at supermarkets. This honey’s origin and contents can definitely be questionable and can even be likened to nothing more than a sugar syrup. THEREFORE, it is NO MATCH to Manuka honey.

The second is raw honey which is sold at places such as a farmer’s market and can be sourced from any plant. Raw honey contains the same benefits and disadvantages as manuka honey. A few differences are as follows:

  • Definitely cheaper as the honey hasn’t undergone any heating process. This just means that the product hasn’t been cooked unlike Manuka or generic honey.
  • Raw honey can even contain more bio-active compounds than Manuka honey. The only problem is that because it can be made from any plant,  the quantity and variety of derived compounds can vary. Manuka honey, in this aspect, is consistent due to the UMF aspect.
    • Raw honey may have certain compounds such as polyphenols like caffeic acid (also found in green tea) in higher quantity than what’s found in Manuka honey.

In the end…

Raw honey and Manuka honey are definitely healthier alternatives to generic honey.  At its most basic level, they are nearly the same with the sole difference being that you can be sure about the compounds in manuka honey than compared to raw honey. My regular honey at that time, and still is, the raw honey.

So far, I feel that it is AS GOOD AS that tub of manuka honey I had tried out, loved- and the BEST part- for a fraction of the price.

For more details, please visit: http://www.thehealthcloud.co.uk/manuka-vs-raw-honey/
The Featured Image: http://kearneywellness.org/the-many-properties-of-honey/
Hope you enjoyed it honey,
Deeksha xxx

 

2 thoughts on “Is Manuka Honey for real?

Leave a Reply

